2016 National Parks Quarters

2016 was the seventh year of the National Parks Quarters series, a spectacular series that will eventually honor a National Park or other national site in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the five overseas territories. Five coins are released each year, and each coin is a one-time-only issue that is produced for only about 10 weeks before the next coin is released. 

The five coins for 2016 were:

  • Shawnee National Forest in Illinois
  • Cumberland Gap National Historical Park in Kentucky
  • Harpers Ferry National Historical Park in West Virginia
  • Theodore Roosevelt National Park in North Dakota
  • Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument) in South Carolina. 

The obverse of each coin is the original portrait of George Washington that first appeared in 1932, but the unique back design highlights the featured park or shows a historical image to represent the park. For example, the Shawnee National Forest and Harpers Ferry National Historical Park coins in 2016 showed scenes from the respective parks, but the other three coins depicted images of historical people with the parks in the background. 

Each National Parks Quarter is made in circulation quality at both the Philadelphia and Denver Mints (identified by the “P” or “D” mint mark, respectively, under “In God We Trust”). 

Released November 22 … the 2016 Quarters Circulating Coin Set! 

Due to the different release dates for each of the National Parks Quarters, many collectors find it hard to assemble the complete set of each year’s coins. What’s more, most collectors prefer to collect pristine coins that have never been released into circulation, which adds a degree of difficulty to putting together a complete collection. 

Fortunately, the U.S. Mint is making the full set of circulation-quality 2016 coins available. All 10 coins – one of each design from each mint – are in original uncirculated condition and are packaged in a custom holder. 

While the five individual coin were originally released between February 1 and November 14, the complete set of circulation-quality coins is being released on November 22. 

The National Parks Quarters series resumes on February 6, 2017, with the coin for Effigy Mounds National Monument in Iowa.


Comments on post  (0)

Leave a comment
Newer Post Older Post