Last chance to own the complete collection?

Presidential Dollars 

The highly successful Presidential Dollars series came to an end in 2016 with the coins for Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and Ronald Reagan … and this may be the last opportunity to acquire the complete collection before the coins disappear into history. 

The Presidential Dollars series started in 2007 with the coin for George Washington, the first President. Coins were issued at the rate of four per year (but three in the final year), in the order in which the Presidents served. Each coin was a limited edition of only about 13 weeks, so every coin is now out of issue … and the George Washington coin has been out of issue for a full decade. Only deceased Presidents were included, so the complete collection features 39 Presidents. 

This was the first coin series to honor America’s Presidents. To add to their historic status, the coins were struck in the same golden alloy as the Sacagawea and Native American Dollars. 

The main problem collectors faced when attempting to build a collection of Presidential Dollars was that the coins were generally made in small numbers. In the first few years, the coins were, in theory, issued for circulation – but in practice, it was virtually impossible to find even one coin. Starting in 2012, the mintages were severely restricted and the coins were made available only to collectors. 

This created a huge problem, since few collectors could assemble complete sets on their own. Fortunately, the Franklin Mint was able to secure a small supply of every Presidential Dollar and has now put together a limited number of complete collections that include all 39 coins. 

  • The Complete Presidential Dollar Collection features every coin in uncirculated condition, displayed in a wooden chest. 
  • The Presidential Dollar Set also includes every coin in uncirculated condition, but the collection is displayed in a custom folder that identifies each President. 
  • In addition, the U.S. Mint issued the Coin & Chronicles sets for many of the more popular Presidents like John F. Kennedy, Ronald Reagan, Harry S. Truman, Lyndon B. Johnson, and Dwight D. Eisenhower. These sets include special editions of the Presidential Dollars, along with other collectibles and a special booklet about the featured President. 

        The Presidential Dollars series is now over, and those who don’t complete their collections now may be disappointed when they try to do so in the future. Now is the time to make sure your collection is complete and up-to-date!

        Comments on post  (2)

        Franklin Mint Coins says:

        The Presidential dollar series of 2007-2016 honored deceased U.S. presidents in order of service from George Washington to Ronald Reagan (its authorizing law states presidents must be deceased for at least two years.)

        Pamela hanshaw says:

        Are all coins available up to and including Trump? If not, where did it stop?

        Leave a comment
        Newer Post Older Post