New Coin Released by the U.S. Mint Today …

National Parks Quarters 

Since it started in 2010, the National Parks Quarters series has proven to be hugely popular with collectors both in the United States and around the world. The series followed the groundbreaking State Quarters that were issued from 1999-2009. 

Five new National Parks Quarters are issued each year, and each coin is therefore a limited edition of only about 10 weeks. Each coin honors a National Park or other national site in a different state, the District of Columbia, or one of the five overseas U.S. territories. The coins are issued in the order in which the sites were established, starting with Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas in 2010 and ending with Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site in Alabama in 2021. 

2016 is the seventh year of the National Parks Quarters series. 

Theodore Roosevelt National Park Quarter Issued on August 29, 2016. 

On August 29, 2016, the U.S. Mint released the 34th coin in the National Parks Quarters series. The coin, which was also the fourth of five coins issued in 2016, features Theodore Roosevelt National Park in North Dakota. The launch ceremony for the coin was held in the park a few days earlier on August 25 to coincide with the 100th anniversary of the founding of the National Park Service. 

Theodore Roosevelt National Park covers about 110 square miles in the Badlands of western North Dakota. It is named for President Theodore Roosevelt, who first visited the Badlands in 1883; he often returned both for the solitude and to enjoy the scenery and wildlife. 

The park consists of three separate areas, including the Elkhorn Ranch that was Roosevelt’s “home ranch” in the Badlands. The North and South Units are about 60 miles apart, with the Elkhorn Ranch between the two main sections. All three units are connected by the Little Missouri River and the Maah Daah Hey Trail. 

The coin depicts a young Theodore Roosevelt on horseback near Elkhorn Ranch, with the Little Missouri River in the background. Coins will be issued in circulation quality at the U.S. Mints in Philadelphia and Denver; the U.S. Mint in San Francisco will also produce a circulation-quality coin, but this coin is for collector sets only and will not be released into circulation. In addition, San Francisco will issue both the standard proof and the 90% silver proof coins. 

The final National Parks Quarter of 2016 will be for Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument) in South Carolina, which will be issued on November 14, 2016.


Comments on post  (0)

Leave a comment
Newer Post Older Post